Take it easy, man

“Runnin’ down the–“

“It’s illegal for you to play down here!” I heard in my right ear as I started to  sing the  first lines of the song Take it Easy. “They just don’t enforce it…”

I looked to my right and saw a grizzly man in with gray hair, staring at me. I was about to start singing again when he informed me that he was not, in fact, a pathological liar. Exactly what I was wondering.

Perplexed, I strummed a G chord in a long holding pattern, nodding while the man informed me of my subway lawbreaking. “This government iss filled with a bunch of hypocrites,” he said. “They don’t enforce nothin’.”

I thought about the scene from the Big Lebowski when Jeff Bridges complains that he hates the f*ckin’ Eagles. Maybe this guy hated the Eagles, too.

He continuing speaking, for more than 30 seconds, until I decided to just sing over his voice until he wandered away. And then I followed that tune up with some Credence, just for the hell of it.

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Take it easy, man

  1. Jeff L. says:

    Cool story, bro.

Leave a Reply

