A song, a can of iced tea, and four quarters

I stopped by the store on my way home from work yesterday. I had my guitar with me, so I decided to sit and play some songs until my bus arrived. I was thirsty, so I bought an peach tea for a dollar and then sat down in proximity to my bus stop, near 5th and Market.

I played Wagon Wheel, because I’m so comfortable with it. It’s a nice warm up. I noticed as I played that the acoustics are much better in the hollow BART station than they are on the street. I found myself somewhat drowned out by distant people drumming on buckets and the steady hum of traffic.

Just as I saw my bus approaching, a girl with bleach-blond pigtails and a pierced nose dropped four quarters in my case as she walked by and said, “That’s my favorite song.” She then flashed a peace sign and hit the road. I said thanks as I sang “Heeey, mama rock me” one last time while the 31 Bus crawled toward me through traffic. I zipped my guitar case in a panic and sprinted toward my stop with a $1 can of iced tea in one hand and four quarters gripped in the other.

I think I broke even, but I’m not totally sure.

This entry was posted in Music, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

